Now I love the Pokemon games, Ironically the only other series I hadn't gotten one of the versions from was the Reb/Blue remakes. But this time around it's not really money or time keeping me from these games... its how I went about playing the last version to come out, Platinum. I took my time with it.
Every so often I'd pick it up and play, it was released a year or so ago and I just last week beat the elite four. What happened was I didn't rush through it, half the time was spent leveling my Pokemon, switching them out for a bit and leveling new ones to the point were I'd have to move along in the story just because I was filling only 5% or my Exp. bar after each battle. It's was a weird way to play, I've never played a Pokemon game that way before, but it makes it last so much longer then the few months the games normally last.
Then again, the releases of the new Pokemon did help revitalize it a bit, and I've been playing it more this past week while my computer was undergoing sort and filing. Trading a few Pokemon up from my Pearl Version to my Platinum like Mismagius here.